Chai Tea Lattes

Standard

I finally made homemade chai tea lattes.  I’ve made chai tea lattes for years, but my pseudo-homemade version involved store-bought chai teabags.  Today I officially graduated to full-blown homemade.  Welcome to the big leagues, baby.

I used BGSK’s recipe as a guide, except I omitted both the sugar and the honey.  I prefer soy or almond milk in my lattes (coffee and chai both), as they are already sweetened and require no further sweeteners.  Also, while I like sugar as much as the next girl, I don’t like my breakfast beverages over the top.  I find the soy/almond milk imparts plenty of sweetness.  Besides, isn’t sugar the silent killer of America and all that?

The hardest part about making these lattes is buying all the spices.  Once you’ve acquired those badboys you’re golden.

In a pot, combine ten cardamon pods, eight whole cloves, six black peppercorns, one cinnamon stick snapped in half (harder than it sounds), and a chunk of ginger about an inch long, cut into a few rough pieces (BGSK recommends peeling the ginger but I see no need to do so; the flavor is absorbed with or without the skin).  Add three bags of black tea and fill the pot with eight cups of water.

Bring to a boil and simmer for 10 minutes.  Turn off the heat, remove the teabags (squeezing out any excess water), and allow spices to steep for another 15 minutes or so.  Strain, or if you’re uncoordinated like me splash more into the sink than into your canteen, removing all the spices.  Allow to cool completely.  Can be stored in the refrigerator for several days.

I poured some into a mug filled about a third of the way with almond milk and nuked it at 50% power for 2 minutes to warm.  The house smells like a winter wonderland.  It’s taking all of my willpower not to drain my mug in one gulp.

Recipe adapted from Big Girls Small Kitchen.

Leave a Reply

